Saturday, 10 April 2021

The Balanescu Quartet ‎– Possessed (1992)

Style: Contemporary
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Mute

1.   Robots
2.   Model
3.   Autobahn
4.   Computer Love
5.   Pocket Calculator
6.   Possessed
7.   Want Me
8.   No Time After Time
9.   Hanging Upside-Down

Cello – Caroline Dale
Viola – Bill Hawkes
Violin – Alexander Balanescu, Clare Connors
Performer – The Balanescu Quartet
Arranged By, Producer – Clare Connors
Written-By – Alexander Balanescu, David Byrne, Schultz, Schneider, Bartoff, Hutter

Although there are three original compositions, including the title track, featured here, the majority of Possessed is made up of string quartet remakes of Kraftwerk songs. Given that the precision of the German electronic band's songs bear no small resemblance to Baroque classicism, the Balanescu Quartet needs to do little to make their covers work than to play them straight.
Jason Ankeny / AllMusic