Tuesday, 4 August 2020

VA ‎– Kaleidoscope (New Spirits Known & Unknown) (2020)

Genre: Jazz
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Soul Jazz Records

01.   Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra - When The World Was One
02.   Yazmin Lacey - 90 Degrees
03.   Hector Plimmer - Communication Control
04.   Ill Considered - Long Way Home (Live At The Crypt)
05.   The Expansions - Mosaic
06.   Chip Wickham - Red Planet
07.   Levitation Orchestra -Odyssey
08.   Emma-Jean Thackray - Walrus
09.   Tenderlonious & The 22archestra - The Shakedown
10.   Pokus - Pokus One
11.   Theon Cross - Candace Of Meroe
12.   Joe Armon-Jones & Maxwell Owin Featuring Nubya Garcia - Tanner's Tango
13.   Collocutor - Gozo
14.   Makaya McCraven - Untitled
15.   Nat Birchall - Ancient World
16.   Ruby Rushton - Moonlight Woman
17.   Ebi Soda - Dimmsdale
18.   The Cromagnon Band - Thunder Perfect
19.   SEED Ensemble - Mirrors
20.   Ishmael Ensemble - Kito's Theme
21.   Vels Trio - Yellow Ochre (Part 1)

The alwayshara working Soul Jazz team are back with another of their vital compilations, this time an overview of the many great contemporary jazz artists who have reinvigorated the scene in recent years. Matthew Halsall, Yazmin Lacey, Ill Considered, Tenderlonious, Theon Cross, Emma-Jean Thackray and plenty of others all feature. What they have in common is a desire to explore cross-genre styles and spiritual sounds that are all either self-published or have been put out by small indie labels. It makes for an experimental album with plenty of uplifting and soulful moments that prove just how rich the scene is right now.