Tuesday, 16 June 2020

SPK ‎– Digitalis Ambigua, Gold And Poison (1987)

Style: Synth-pop, Industrial, Ambient, New Wave
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Nettwerk, Animalized, Regular Records

01.   Breathless
02.   Mouth To Mouth
03.   Sheer Naked Aggression
04.   Crack!
05.   The Doctrine Of Eternal Ice
06.   Invocation
07.   White Island
08.   Palms Crossed In Sorrow
09.   Alocasia Metallica
10.   The Garden Of Earthly Delights

Voice – Karina Hayes, Sinan
Instruments, Programmed By, Voice, Written-By, Recorded By, Producer – Graeme Revell

Somewhere between the industrial noise of the early years and his later soundtrack work, Graeme Revell was in a period of transition. Digitalis Ambigua, Gold and Poison (often shortened to simply Gold and Poison) carried on from the noisy but danceable electro-funk of Junk Funk, but smoothes out the edges. In fact, the album shifts gears partway through, going from slick and almost throwaway dance music to moody atmospheric instrumentals. It's a jarring change, but it ultimately saves the album from being a waste of time, and serves as a document of Revell turning a corner in his musical career.
Sean Carruthers / AllMusic