Sunday, 5 April 2020

Alessandroni - Industrial (1976) (2015 Reissue)

Style: Industrial, Experimental
Format: Vinyl
Label: Octopus Records, Dead-Cert Home Entertainment

A1.   Stozzatrice
A2.   Comitato Aziendale
A3.   Viabilità
A4.   Collata
A5.   Fusione
A6.   Highway
A7.   Discesa Tensione
B1.   Moto Sincrono
B2.   Avvicendamento
B3.   Demolizione
B4.   Compressione
B5.   Reparto Presse
B6.   Idrolisi
B7.   Camionabile
B8.   Amperometri

Written-By, Performer, Composed By – Alessandro Alessandroni

Holy Grail territory here from Andy Votel and Demdike’s mighty Dead Cert imprint - here finally bringing you this incredible album of previously unreleased Industrial-themed recordings made in 1976 by experimental pioneer and Ennio Morricone cohort Alessandro Alessandroni. The concept itself is riveting enough: the guy who provided that infamous guitar riff for 'The Good, The Bad and The Ugly' providing utterly bent and synth-heavy recordings previously unheard by the wider world - but the material and execution is just nothing short of a revelation, unlocking an uncannily prescient suite of rhythmik pieces that sound unlike much library music you will have heard from the era. ‘Industrial’ perfectly encapsulates the heightened state of creativity in the mid '70s surrounding Alessandroni and his close peers Giuliano Sorgini - together known as Braen Raskovich - and Ennio Morricone, for whom Alessandro also famously whistled the theme to 'A Fistful of Dollars’. Recorded at Piero Umiliani's Sound Workshop in Rome, and made with an arsenal of EMS Synthi VCS3 modular systems, tape loops and a treated Petrof grand piano plus a bundle of string instruments, the 'Industrial' results (coincidentally issued the same year as Throbbing Gristle's debut album) present a pulsating take on this kind of music breaching tightly-coiled motorik systems and mood percolators with atonal strings and viral oscillations. Most importantly, the sense of minimalist efficiency and the clarity of the recordings are shocking, pushing the envelope of electro-acoustic music and pre-empting the early notions of an entire genre movement. It’s taken an age to make this release happen - but here it finally is in all its remastered glory, including artwork by Anthony Shallcross and liner notes by Shallcross Jr, aka Andy Votel.
Phonica Records

Seeds Of Fulfillment ‎– Seeds Of Fulfillment (1981)

Style: Jazz-Funk, Contemporary Jazz, Fusion
Format: Vinyl
Label: Mo-Jazz Records, Tramp Records

1.   The Provider
2.   Egg Cartons
3.   In The Time Of Need
4.   Look Beyond Appearances
5.   Namaste
6.   Tight Squeeze
7.   Self-fulfilling Prophecy
8.   Solemn Solitude
9.   Love Me

Backing Vocals – Tibby Porter
Bass – Andrew Venson
Drums, Congas, Bell Tree, Percussion – Roger Myers
Electric Piano, Piano, Synthesizer – David Drazin
Tenor Saxophone – Randy Mather
Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Cowbell – Lee Savory
Vocals – Jeanette Williams

Daniel Schell & Karo ‎– If Windows They Have / MTM VOL. 13 (1986)

Genre: Electronic, Classical
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Crammed Discs, Music-Box

A1.   Un Celte
A2.   Remi Face Au Lacis Dore
A3.   Vienna Carmen
A4.   3 Moustiquaires
A5.   If Windows They Have
B1.   Bijna Zomer En Ik Loop Altijd
B2.   Listen To Shortwaves: Je Suis Dans Ce Chant
B3.   Tapi La Nuit (Kammerquintet)
B4.   Buches/Logs/Holz

Cello – Claudine Steenackers
Chapman Stick – Daniel Schell
Clarinet – Dirk Descheemaeker
Keyboards, Short Waves Sounds – Jean-Luc Plouvier
Percussion – Pierre Narcisse
Violin – Jeannot Gillis, Tran Thi Thu Van
Composed By – Daniel Schell, Pascale Son
Producer – Daniel Schell