Friday, 13 March 2020

Mark de Clive-Lowe ‎– Church Sessions (2019)

Genre: Electronic, Jazz, Funk / Soul
Format: FLAC
Label: World Galaxy Records

01.   Kamau Daaood & Mark de Clive-Lowe - Invocation
02.   Mark de Clive-Lowe - Smoked Something
03.   Colectivo Arte & Manha - Mystic Brew
04.   John Robinson & Mark de Clive-Lowe - A.C.H.H.
05.   Colectivo Arte & Manha - Atlantic Journey
06.   Joy Jones & Mark de Clive-Lowe - Steps Ahead
07.   Stro Elliot, 14KT & Mark de Clive-Lowe - Part One
08.   Stro Elliot, 14KT & Mark de Clive-Lowe - Part Two
09.   Stro Elliot, 14KT & Mark de Clive-Lowe - Part Three
10.   Mark de Clive-Lowe - Blueberries
11.   Mark de Clive-Lowe - ESSS (Love the Space)
12.   Tommaso Cappellato - Ancient Prophecy
13.   Myele Manzanza, Mark de Clive-Lowe & Matt Dal Din - Montara

Earlier this year, revered musician Mark de Clive-Lowe took us on melodic journey through his ancestral timeline with stunning back-to-back releases, Heritage and Heritage II. Now the Japanese Kiwi simultaneously shifts gears and accomplishes a winning trifecta with his latest album, CHURCH Sessions 
The project is a celebration of his popular "Church" club parties, which began back in 2010. Described by MdCL as “equal parts jazz club, dance party and live remix experiment,” the events are world-renowned for featuring critically-acclaimed musicians along with phenomenal underground artists, working together to spin sonic gold with Mark at the helm. The magic has been captured on wax through the years with Church in 2014, followed by Church Remixed. With the party still going strong in its ninth year, the new collection is curated and produced by de Clive-Lowe along with contributions and collaborators from all around the world. 
Southern California griot Kamau Daáood sets the tone with the dramatic "Invocation" to open the record. Brooklyn rapper John Robinson delivers magnetic bars on "A.C.H.H.," while L.A. songstress Joy Jones offers swanky vocals on "Steps Ahead." Frequent collaborators Stro Elliot (who recently dropped his own new project) and 14KT are on hand to showcase a suite of beats, simply titled "Part One," Part Two" and "Part Three." On "Mystic Brew" and "Atlantic Journey," McDL premieres a new collective of Portuguese artists that he formed in Lisbon called Colectivo Arte & Manha. Ethio Cali members Todd Simon and Te’Amir create ethereal jazz-funk on "ESSS (Love the Space)" and Italian drummer/producer Tommaso Cappellato keeps us rhythmically spellbound on "Ancient Prophecy." Ending the set on a high note is a trio of New Zealand's finest, with drummer/producer Myele Manzanza and bassist Matt Dal Din joining de Clive-Lowe on a lovely reimagining of Bobby Hutcherson's “Montara. 
”While CHURCH Sessions isn't spiritual – not in the "traditional" sense, anyway – this transcendent project is definitely good for the soul. 
B. Cakes / SoulBounce

Material ‎– Seven Souls (1989)

Style: Breaks, Avantgarde, Spoken Word
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Triloka Records, Virgin

1.   Ineffect
2.   Seven Souls
3.   Soul Killer
4.   The Western Lands
5.   Deliver
6.   Equation
7.   The End Of Words

Bass, Acoustic Guitar, Tapes, Percussion – Bill Laswell
Drums, Synthesizer – Sly Dunbar
Guitars, Baglama, Coral Sitar, Synthesizer – Nicky Skopelitis
Keyboards – Jeff Bova
Mastered By – Howie Weinberg
Percussion – Aïyb Dieng
Violin – Shankar, Simon Shaheen
Voices – Fahiem Dandan, Foday Musa Suso, Rammellzee, William S. Burroughs
Producer – Bill Laswell, Material