Thursday, 4 June 2020

Omar ‎– There's Nothing Like This (1991)

Style: Acid Jazz, Neo Soul
Format: CDVinyl
Label: Talkin' Loud, Kongo Dance

01.   There's Nothing Like This
02.   Don't Mean A Thing
03.   You And Me
04.   Positive
05.   I'm In Love
06.   Meaning Of Life
07.   Stop Messing Around
08.   Serious Style
09.   I Don't Mind The Waiting
10.   Fine (Acapella)
11.   There's Nothing Like This (Remix)

Mastered By – Geoff Pesche
Omar's groundbreaking 1990 debut album There's Nothing Like This earned the British singer/songwriter the title of 'the founder of nu-classic soul'. 
Born in London and brought up in Cantebury, Omar was the son of a studio musician and drummer, Byron Lye-Fook and as a result he learnt to play the drums, trumpet and piano at a young age. Although Omar went to the prestigious Guildhall School of Music, at 16 he left to pursue his music career and began releasing music on his father’s Kongo label in 1985. 
The single There's Nothing Like This first appeared five years later in 1990, and the buzz it created led to Omar signing to Talking Loud. The subsequent album was a sublime collection of soul tracks and the single peaked at number 14 in the charts. 
His importance as an artist within soul music cannot be understated, as performers such as Angie Stone, Erykah Badu and Stevie Wonder have all cited his music as being influential to them.
David O'Donnell  / BBC Review

No comments:

Post a Comment