Tuesday, 26 May 2020

Retta Young – Retta Young And The Devotions (1977)

Genre: Funk / Soul
Format: CD
Label: Essential Media Group, Wanderik Music

1.   The Saga Of Willie Jones
2.   Let's Join Our Worlds Together
3.   The Dawning Of Love
4.   Love Has Found It's Way To Me
5.   You Put A Spell On Me
6.   No Greater Love
7.   Love's Unpredictable
8.   The Happiest Girl In The World

Producer: Paul Kyser

Retta Young was a member of the Sixties group, The Superbs (not the same group as the Los Angeles based group). 
She was also the wife of Al Goodman of the group the Moments. 
The Superbs were a sister group of the male group The Superlatives. 
Retta Young formed the group Retta Young And The Devotions, who first recorded on Silver Dollar Records, later to appear on the Wanderik imprint. 
Paul Kyser wrote, produced and arranged all the tracks on the groups’ debut release.

No comments:

Post a Comment