Sunday, 17 May 2020

Einstürzende Neubauten ‎– Kollaps (1981)

Style: Industrial, Noise, Experimental, Avantgarde
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Potomak, Spalax Music, Indigo

01.   Tanz Debil
02.   Steh Auf Berlin
03.   Negativ Nein
04.   U-Haft-Muzak
05.   Draußen Ist Feindlich
06.   Schmerzen Hören
07.   Jet'm
08.   Kollaps
09.   Sehnsucht
10.   Vorm Krieg
11.   Hirnsäge
12.   Abstieg & Zerfall
13.   Helga
14.  Schieß Euch Ins Blut
15.   Rohrbombe
16.   Futuristischer Dub
17.   Sado-Masodub
18.   Liebesdub
19.   Spionagedub
20.   Mikrobendub
21.   Gastarbeiterdub
22.   Rivieradub
23.   Lünebest

Performer – Blixa Bargeld, F.M. Einheit, N. U. Unruh
Written-By – Einstürzende Neubauten

Einstürzende Neubauten's first album, as one might imagine, is their most primitive and radical effort, the purest expression of their original aesthetic. This makes the album both historically significant and conceptually intriguing, of course, but what's most interesting about this album is that it still sounds surprising decades after its release. Often, albums that are considered extreme art statements upon their debut sound almost quaint a few years later, but while Kollaps perhaps sounds less extreme to ears that heard industrial music turned into disco pabulum by the likes of Nine Inch Nails than it did before, songs like the eight-minute title track and the rumbling live closer, "Negativ Nein," are still a fascinating blend of rhythm and random bashing, tonality and atonality, with anguished vocals by Blixa Bargeld that often seem to have little connection with anything else in the piece. The brief tracks, like the 80-second "Sehnsucht," are even more extreme explorations of pure noise. Starting as early as the next album, Einstürzende Neubauten would begin slowly introducing more mainstream musical concepts into their aesthetic, making Kollaps as undiluted a listening experience as there is in the entire catalog.
Stewart Mason / AllMusic

No comments:

Post a Comment