Tuesday, 1 October 2019

Moonchild – Little Ghost (2019)

Style: Contemporary R&B, Neo Soul
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: eOne, Tru Thoughts

01.   Wise Women
02.   Too Much To Ask
03.   The Other Side
04.   Sweet Love
05.   Strength
06.   Everything I Need
07.   Money
08.   Nova
09.   Get To Know It
10.   What You're Doing
11.   Come Over
12.   Onto Me
13.   Whistling
14.   Still Wonder

Cello– Danica Pinner
Violin – Eliza James, Rebecca Schlappich, Lila Crosswhite
Piano, Electric Piano, Synth, Bass , Flugelhorn, Drum Programming, Ukulele, Synthesizer – Andris Mattson
Alto Saxophone, Piano, Electric Piano, Synth, Drum Programming, Bass, Clarinet – Max Bryk
Vocals, Lyrics By, Electric Piano, Synth, Bass, Tenor Saxophone, Drum Programming, Flute – Amber Navran
Arranged By (Horn Arrangements) – Amber Navran, Andris Mattson, Max Bryk
Producer, Music By, Recorded By, Mixed By – Moonchild

Tall Black Guy ‎– Let's Take A Trip (2016)

Style: Soul, Neo Soul, Jazzy Hip-Hop
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: First Word Records, Sweet Soul Records

01.   A Train Is Coming.....
02.   One Device, One Method, One Thing
03.   Rockin From Beginning To End
04.   This One Is For The Ladies And Gents
05.   The Kids Are Listening Interlude
06.   80's Babies - Don't Box Me In
07.   Beware Of The Groove
08.   Come With Me And Fly
09.   Is There More To Life
10.   I Will Never Know
11.   Mario Smith Speaks On
12.   Things Deeper Than My Skin
13.   Peace And Love

Written-By, Mixed By – Terrel Wallace

Over the course of two albums—one under the alias “Yusef Rumperfield”—Detroit producer Tall Black Guy has forged his own distinct path through hip-hop, even if his mix of hard drums and obscure samples aren’t breaking new ground. On Let’s Take A Trip, TBG stays the course, offering up a soundtrack for escape. 
He makes that concept clear from the jump: The cover sports an animated locomotive with TBG hanging from its left side, and two song titles—“A Train is Coming,” “Come With Me and Fly”—reference travel. The journey is musical as well; on “This One Is For The Ladies And The Gents,” TBG and trumpeter Miles Bonny bridge the gap between J Dilla and Sade, offering a mellow vibe with adequate knock. The same goes for “Rocking From Beginning to End”; its blend of boom-bap and floating keys would slot in perfectly on adult contemporary radio, or in the background of a coffee shop. 
Musically, Let’s Take A Trip is dialed into yesteryear; on “Beware Of The Groove” and “I Will Never Know,” TBG pays homage to Midwestern funk and neo-soul with the help of vocalists Mario Sweet and Moonchild. Taken in full, Let’s Take A Trip is another success for one of indie rap’s best-kept secrets, and another step in the right direction for a formidable talent who’s still building his name. The sounds may be familiar, but the ability is clear. 
Jesse Fairfax / bandcamp daily

Fatima Mansions ‎– Against Nature (1989)

Genre: Electronic, Rock, Pop
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Kitchenware Records

1.   Only Losers Take The Bus
2.   The Day I Lost Everything
3.   Wilderness On Time
4.   You Won't Get Me Home
5.   13th Century Boy
6.   Bishop Of Babel
7.   Valley Of The Dead Cars
8.   Big Madness / Monday Club Carol

Bass – Jon Fell
Drums – Nick Allum
Guitar – Andrías Ó Grúama
Keyboards – Zac Woolhouse
Written-By, Arranged By, Keyboards, Programmed By, Voice – Cathal Coughlan