Wednesday, 30 January 2019

Morphine ‎– Cure For Pain (1993)

Style: Alternative Rock
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Rykodisc, Light In The Attic ‎

01.   Dawna
02.   Buena
03.   I'm Free Now
04.   All Wrong
05.   Candy
06.   A Head With Wings
07.   In Spite Of Me
08.   Thursday
09.   Cure For Pain
10.   Mary Won't You Call My Name?
11.   Let's Take A Trip Together
12.   Sheila
13.   Miles Davis' Funeral

Backing Vocals – Dana Colley
Baritone Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone – Dana Colley
Bass, Guitar, Guitar, Organ, Lead Vocals – Mark Sandman
Drums – Billy Conway, Jerome Deupree
Producer – Mark Sandman, Paul Q. Kolderie
Arranged By – Morphine

With their cult following growing, Morphine expanded their audience even further with their exceptional 1994 sophomore effort, Cure for Pain. Whereas their debut, Good, was intriguing yet not entirely consistent, Cure for Pain more than delivered. The songwriting was stronger and more succinct this time around, while new drummer Billy Conway made his recording debut with the trio (replacing Jerome Deupree). Like the debut, most of the material shifts between depressed and upbeat, with a few cacophonic rockers thrown in between. Such selections as "Buena," "I'm Free Now," "All Wrong," "Candy," "Thursday," "In Spite of Me" (one of the few tracks to contain six-string guitar), "Let's Take a Trip Together," "Sheila," and the title track are all certifiable Morphine classics. And again, Mark Sandman's two-string slide bass and Dana Colley's sax work help create impressive atmospherics throughout the album. Cure for Pain was unquestionably one of the best and most cutting-edge rock releases of the '90s.
Greg Prato / AllMusic

Masayoshi Takanaka ‎– The Rainbow Goblins (1981)

Style: Fusion, Psychedelic Rock
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Universal Music, Kitty Records

01.   Once Upon A Song
02.   Seven Goblins
03.   The Sunset Valley
04.   The Moon Rose
05.   Soon
06.   Magical Night Light - Rainbow Paradise
07.   Thunderstorm
08.   Rising Arch
09.   Just Chuckle
10.   Rainbow Was Reborn
11.   Plumed Bird
12.   You Can Never Come To This Place

Bass – Akihiro Tanaka
Drums – Masahiro Miyazaki, Shigeru Inoue, Shuichi Murakami
Keyboards – Kiyosumi Ishikawa, Izumi Kobayashi
Percussion – Makoto Kimura, Yuki Sugawara
Saxophone – Koji Satsuma
Producer, Composed By, Arranged By, Guitar – Masayoshi Takanaka