Thursday, 16 May 2019

Gil Scott-Heron & Brian Jackson ‎– Midnight Band: The First Minute Of A New Day (1974)

Style: Soul-Jazz, Fusion, Jazz-Funk
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Arista

A1.   Offering
A2.   The Liberation Song (Red, Black And Green)
A3.   Must Be Something
A4.   Ain't No Such Thing As Superman
A5.   Pardon Our Analysis (We Beg Your Pardon)
B1.   Guerilla
B2.   Winter In America
B3.   Western Sunrise
B4.   Alluswe

Bob Adams - Composer, Percussion
Bilal Sunni Ali - Composer, Flute, Harmonica, Saxophone
Danny Bowens - Bass, Composer
Victor Brown - Vocals
Brian Jackson - Composer, Flute, Percussion, Performer, Piano, Primary Artist, Vocals
Eddie Knowles - Bells, Congas, Percussion, Shakere
Charles Saunders - Congas, Percussion
Charlie Saunders - Bongos, Congas, Cowbell, Maracas, Shakere
Gil Scott-Heron - Composer, Guitar, Liner Notes, Piano, Piano (Electric), Primary Artist, Vocals
Barnett Williams - Congas, Drums, Horn, Percussion, Shakere
Jose Williams - Engineer, Producer
Malcolm Cecil - Engineer, Remastering
Vera Savcic - Executive Producer
Adam Shore - Executive Producer

This follow-up to the righteous and soulful Winter in America LP continues with the solid, decidedly left-of-center jazz-R&B that made him a cult figure throughout the '70s. This output, with the opening meditation of "Offering" and the right-on "Ain't No Such Thing as Superman," solidifies Heron's place in the pantheon of jazz poets. Dig the recited (possibly improvised) live take of "Pardon Our Analysis," a follow-up to his seminal "H2O Blues." And some reissues feature four unreleased tracks, including a live medley of "The Bottle/Guan Guanco."
Tim Sheridan / ALLMusic 

No comments:

Post a Comment