Tuesday, 16 October 2018

The Limiñanas ‎– Shadow People (2018)

Style: Experimental, Psychedelic Rock, Garage Rock
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Because Music

01.   Ouverture
02.   Le Premier Jour
03.   Istanbul Is Sleepy
04.   Shadow People
05.   Dimanche
06.   The Gift
07.   Motorizzati Marie
08.   Pink Flamingos
09.   Trois Bancs
10.   De La Part Des Copains

Electric Guitar, Mellotron – Anton Newcombe
Drums, Percussion – Marie Limiñana
Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Guitar, Organ (Farfisa), Bass, Stylophone, Keyboards (Micro Korg), Bass (Morocan Bass), Bouzouki – Lionel Limiñana
Producer – Anton Newcombe, Lionel Limiñana

Following the swanky cool of the E.P Istanbul is Sleepy by a few months, the new album from French veterans of 60s garage beat and psychedelia, The Limiñanas, peddles a similar groove-enriched strain of psych-rock that sounds contemporary, while cribbing the best of their influences. 
Musical couch-surfer, Anton Newcombe has been collaborating with the band in recent times. This has had the effect of synthesising the relative strengths of each of the artists. A coterie of friends indeed. Also, since Malamore, The Limiñanas have shifted a little more into the trance aspects of psych-pop, whilst sheltering behind vocals inspired by the detached cool of Serge Gainsbourg, the great French master of pop erotica. The voice on tracks such as ‘Dimanche’ has a rhythmic drive and poetic meter. It doesn’t even matter what the [mostly] French lyrics reveal because the voice, as an instrument, caresses the mood so effortlessly. It matters not from where the breeze emanates. The guitars layer the sound with looping melodica and percussion, a gently assuaging sound that manages to incorporate the sound of police sirens on ‘De La Part Des Copains’, as if this is no longer an intrusion but shares a comforting affinity with urban life. The mood is nonchalant, a kind of ambulatory effervescence that doesn’t share the darkness of much of the psychedelic oeuvre. 
The ‘Ouverture’ sets the pace, a kind of Mozartian scene setting for much of what is to follow, themes that will recur – guitars, sitars, tambourines, distant broadcasts – a panoply of 60s garage sound updated with great enthusiasm for the easy swagger. ‘Le Premier Jour’ is sexy as hell, and surely is the godchild of later era Serge. Whatever the fuck it translates to, the vocals are the sensorial equivalent of a tropical massage. Beautiful stuff. ‘Istanbul is Sleepy’ males a re-appearance from the EP of 2017, and why not, it’s psych-pop masterwork. 
‘Shadow People’ is predominantly the female vocal of Guest, Emmanuelle Seigner which is a simple tune executed beyond its station. Deceptively engaging. ‘Trios Bancs’ is quite possibly the most accomplished track, setting a trance much like Moon Duo without the vortex of freaky guitar. Here the Interplay between the Limiñanas is so hot, it’s little wonder the album cover is drenched in sunburnt orange.
Rob Taylor  / Soundblab

Pascal Comelade + Les Limiñanas‎– Traité De Guitarres Triolectiques (À L'usage Des Portugaises Ensablées) (2015)

Style: Garage Rock, Experimental
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Trouble In Mind, Because Music

01.   Stella Star
02.   Carnival Of Souls
03.   The Nothing-Twist
04.   (They Call Me) Black Sabatta
05.   You're Never Alone With A Schizo
06.   Why Are We Sleeping?
07.   El Vici Birra-Crucis
08.   Green Fuz
09.   T.B. Jerk +++
10.   Wunderbar
11.   A Wall Of Perrukes
12.   One Of Us, One Of Us, One Of Us...
13.   Dick Dale N'était Pas De Bompas
14.   Ramblin' Rose
15.   Yesterday Man
16.   I'm Dead

Drums, Percussion, Voice – Marie Limiñana
Guitar, Bass, Voice, Instruments – Lionel Limiñana
Lead Guitar – Ivan Telefunken, Nicolas Delseny
Piano, Organ, Guitar Plastic, Instruments – Pascal Comelade
Producer – P. Comelade, Les Limiñanas
Mixed By – Raph Dumas
Recorded By – L. Limiñana

The Limiñanas ‎– Costa Blanca (2013)

Style: Garage Rock, Psychedelic Rock
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Trouble In Mind

01.  Je Me Souviens Comme Si J’y étais
02.   My Black Sabbath
03.   Alicante
04.   Votre Coté Yéyé M’emmerde
05.   Cold Was The Ground
06.   I Miei Occhi Sono I Tuoi Occhi
07.   La Mercedes De Couleur Gris Métallisé
08.   Rosas
09.   Barrio Chino
10.   BB
11.   La Mélancolie
12.   La Mediterranée
13.   Liverpool

Bass, Guitar, Organ, Banjo, Bouzouki, Percussion – Lionel Limiñana
Drums, Percussion – Marie Limiñana
Lacquer Cut By – Jason Ward
Mastered By – Luis Mazzoni
Producer – The Limiñanas
Recorded By – Lionel Limiñana

French pop in its purest form hasn't really got its groove back since the 60s, but, wisely, it's this very era that this Perpignan duo mine, marrying fuzzed-out psychedelia and agreeably rambling rock with the pop sweetness of that decade's chansons. The ghost of Gainsbourg is felt most keenly in Votre côté yéyé m'emmerde, a softly spoken-word litany of icons and celebrities. Not hero worship, though, but an eye roll at the cute-ification of the past; its title translates to something like "your yé-yé view annoys me", or, more literally, "enshittens me". It is, in other words, a perfectly Gallic "bof" of a pop song.
Hermione Hoby / The Guardian

The Limiñanas ‎– Crystal Anis (2012)

Style: Garage Rock
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: HoZac Records, Because Music

01.   Salvation
02.   Longanisse
03.   AF3458
04.   Kinam Baby
05.   Hospital Boogie
06.   Bad Lady Goes To Jail
07.   Crystal Anis
08.   Belmondo
09.   Betty And Johnny
10.   Une Ballade Pour Clive
11.   I'm Dead (Instrumental)

Backing Vocals – Giom, Marie, Nadège
Drums, Vocals – Limiñana Marie
Guitar, Bass, Organ, Ukulele, Percussion – Limiñana Lionel
Producer – The Limiñanas
Recorded By – Lionel Limiñana
Recorded By (Drums And Vocals) – Giom Picard

Crystal Anis is the latest LP from the French underground band The Limiñanas. This hook laden dreamy fuzz felt pop owes a big nod to the Velvet Underground which Lio and Marie Limiñana make no secret of. Lush garage rock and folk-pop with plenty of tambourine, jangly guitars and hooks to keep you off your chair, you can’t go wrong. 
The music has a simplicity that works on many levels, from looping ukulele openings (AF3458) to the great Velvet Underground sounding tribute on Kinam Baby. Sultry female vocals call to mind the likes of Mazzy Starr and Nico which really go to work on the breathy Hospital Boogie. Male vocals also feature on the likes of Bad Lady Goes to Jail whose combined tambourine percussion calling to mind the early Stones whilst the title track shines with fuzzy guitars and organ and Serge Gainsbourg inspired male / female spoken parts. 
This has got to be one of the most overlooked albums of 2012, it’s brilliantly constructed and executed…scatter the cushions on the floor and get the liquid light show ready.
Alex Gallacher  / Folk Radio

The Limiñanas ‎– The Limiñanas (2010)

Style: Lounge, Garage Rock, Chanson
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Trouble In Mind

01.   The Darkside
02.   Down Underground
03.   Je Ne Suis Pas Très Drogue
04.   Funeral Baby
05.   Chocolate In My Milk
06.   Tigre Du Bengale (Instr.)
07.   Mountain
08.   Je Suis Une Go-Go Girl
09.   Berçeuse Pour Clive
10.   Tears
11.   Tigre Du Bengale
12.   Got Nothin' To Say

Drums, Percussion – Marie Limiñana
Guitar, Bass, Sitar, Melodica, Piano, Organ, Percussion – Lionel Limiñana
Mastered By – Luis Mazzoni
Mixed By – Raph Dumas
Producer – The Limiñanas
Written-By – L. Limiñana