Tuesday, 26 June 2018

Fauna Flash ‎– Aquarius (1997)

Style: Future Jazz, Drum n Bass
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label:  Compost Records

1.   In The Dangerous Kitchen
2.   Serpico
3.   Experimental Error
4.   Kiss
5.   Top Secret
6.   Synopsis
7.   T.H.E.O.
8.   Blue Lotus
9.   Suited For City-Squiring

Written-By, Producer – Fauna Flash
Artwork – Andrew Arnold

Fauna Flash, the drum ‘n’ bass component of Compost Records, drops some hard beats on their first release, Aquarius. The drum tracks on these numbers are quick and oftentimes are well-complemented by the bassline (check out “Serpico” for an example), but the first third of this album doesn’t quite have enough to distinguish itself. Later on, “Kiss” has some of the jazziness that Compost is known for, while “Top Secret” and “Synopsis” go for some spy movie excitement. “Blue Lotus” and “Suited for City-Squiring” are more or less a downtempo tracks. It’s an album worth investigating.
scoundrel  / discogs