Saturday, 9 November 2019

Africa Express ‎– EGOLI (2019)

Style: African, Electro
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Africa Express

01.   Welcome
02.   City In Lights
03.   The River
04.   Bittersweet Escape
05.   Johannesburg
06.   Become The Tiger
07.   Africa To The World
08.   Absolutely Everything Is Pointing Towards The Light
09.   Mama
10.   Where Will This Lead Us To?
11.   Morals
12.   Taranau
13.   No Games
14.   The Return Of Bacardi
15.   Sizi Freaks
16.   I Can't Move
17.   See The World

Mastered By – Frank Merritt
Mixed By – Blue May, Scott Knapper
Recorded By – Africa Express, Steve Sedgewick

Five albums in, and Africa Express – Damon Albarn’s cross-cultural collaboration engine – has pitched up in Johannesburg, known as Egoli in Xhosa. It could be the best iteration yet of this speed-dating pop writer’s camp, in which a handful of UK and US artists (Nick Zinner, a returnee, plus Super Furry Gruff Rhys and grime MC Ghetts, to name three) and a 20-stong cast of local producers, musicians, singers and groove-bringers pull an album together in a week. 
Thanks to South Africa’s vast natural resources of dance music, both traditional and bleeding-edge, Egoli is a party album almost end to end, an update on Buraka Som Sistema’s Angolan-Portuguese rave dynamics and more like a Gorillaz record than anything you might normally file under “world music”. The frisky, blue-wigged Moonchild Sanelly locks horns with Infamous Boiz, innovators in South Africa’s gqom genre. Together they lead the charge for body-moving pop. 
Of the few lower-key tracks, the incessantly lovely Absolutely Everything Is Pointing Towards the Light is sung alternately in Welsh and Xhosa by Rhys and Zolani Mahola. 
Kitty Empire / The Guardian

No comments:

Post a comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.