Tuesday, 3 September 2019

Françoise Hardy ‎– La Maison Où J'ai Grandi (1966)

Style: Chanson, Ballad, Easy Listening
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Future Days Recordings, Sony Music, Disques Vogue

A1.   Je Changerai D'avis - Se Telefonando
A2.   Si C'est Ca
A3.   Rendez-Vous D'automne
A4.   Je Serais La Pour Toi
A5.   Peut-Etre Que Je T'aime
A6.   Il Est De Choses (Ci Sono Cose Ciu Pu Grandi)
B1.   Comme
B2.   Mes Jours S'en Vont
B3.   Qu'ils Sont Heureux
B4.   Surtout Ne Vous Retournez Pas
B5.   Tu Es Un Peu A Moi
B6.   La Maison Ou J'ai Grandi (Il Ragazzo Della Via Gluck)

Orchestra (Accompagned By) – Charles Blackwell Orchestra, Johnny Harris Orchestra

Françoise Hardy finally peaked in 1966. She met a drug-addled Bob Dylan, who unsuccessfully wooed her in his Paris dressing room, and she starred in two films: John Frankenheimer’s Grand Prix and Jean-Luc Godard’s Masculin Féminin. In between, she recorded a few EPs that would comprise her fifth album of French pop vocal known as “Chanson,” the final entry in a fantastic series of carefully remastered reissues of her first five French-language albums. 
La Maison Où J’Ai Grandi saw Hardy eschew the rock’n‘roll conventions that had marked her previous efforts in favor of lush pop vocal arrangements by former Joe Meek understudy, Charles Blackwell, and Tom Jones arranger, Johnny Harris. Gone were the fuzzy guitars and insistent rock beats, replaced by strings, acoustic guitars and harpsichord. Hardy’s voice remained at the forefront, more confident than ever, as she sang her own compositions, rounded out by two exquisitely chosen songs by French writers and three from Italy, thus cementing her international status to her home audience. It was her most dramatic statement to date, a gentle breeze in the torrid storm of the 1960s. 
Hardy’s life would change in the following years. She broke up with her long-time boyfriend, Jean-Marie Périer, and began an even longer relationship with Jacques Dutronc, with whom she bore a son in 1973. In 1968, she stopped performing live simply because she suffered from stage fright. She was done doing what others told her to do and she was ready to live on her own terms. It only took her five albums to get there. 
Chuck Foster / The Big Take Over

No comments:

Post a comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.