Thursday, 18 July 2019

The Triffids ‎– The Triffids Present The Black Swan (1989)

Style: Folk Rock, Pop Rock, Indie Rock
Format: CDVinyl
Label: White Hot, Polystar, Island Records

01.   Too Hot To Move, Too Hot To Think
02.   American Sailors
03.   Falling Over You
04.   Goodbye Little Boy
05.   Bottle Of Love
06.   The Spinning Top Song
07.   Butterflies Into Worms
08.   The Clown Prince
09.   Good Fortune Rose
10.   New Year's Greetings (The Country Widower)
11.   One Mechanic Town
12.   Blackeyed Susan
13.   Fairytale Love

Acoustic Guitar – David McComb, Evil Graham Lee
Backing Vocals – Evil Graham Lee, Phil Kakulas
Bass – Martyn P. Casey
Double Bass – Phil Kakulas
Drum Programming – Alsy MacDonald
Drums – Alsy MacDonald
Electric Guitar – David McComb, Evil Graham Lee
Keyboards – Jill Birt
Organ – David McComb
Piano – Adam Peters
Steel Guitar – Evil Graham Lee
Tambourine – Alsy MacDonald
Vocals – David McComb
Producer (Assistant) – David McComb
Producer, Engineer – Stephen Street

Black Swan was intended to be the Triffids' White Album. As is the often the way with such things, it wasn't - though the band's leader, the late David McComb, certainly had no shortage of ideas on how acoustic and electronic music could be put together. (Too many ideas, in fact: half of this could be painlessly dropped.) As cousins of The The and Lloyd Cole's sweepingly dramatic, lyrical, 1980s indie-rock, the Triffids are placed neatly between Orange Juice's shorts'n'sandals romanticism and pin-sharp 2008 indie-pop such as the Elephants. But they're also capable of producing some wonderfully strange music. Good Fortune Rose has a beautiful vocal from the band's keyboard player, Jill Burt; a rather charming banjo part; New Order melodies; and Run-DMC kick-drums - a sadly rare occurrence in pop. Fairytale Love invents Tindersticks, and The Spinning Top Song throbs like Yello. Falling Over You even features a rap. In 1989, it seems, anything was possible. 
Rob Fitzpatrick / The Guardian

No comments:

Post a Comment