Monday, 20 May 2019

MC 900 Ft Jesus ‎– Welcome To My Dream (1991)

Style: Leftfield, Jazz-Funk, Downtempo, Poetry
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Nettwerk Europe, Play It Again Sam, SPV

1  Falling Elevators
2  Killer Inside Me
3  Adventures In Failure
4  The City Sleeps
5  O-Zone
6  Hearing Voices In One's Head
7  Dali's Handgun
8  Dancing Barefoot

Credits: Bass – Steve Dirkx Congas, Percussion – Mike Dillon Design, Photography By – Richard Krall Drums – Al Emert Keyboards, Guitar, Trumpet – Mark Griffin Tenor Saxophone, Bass Clarinet – Chris McGuire Turntables – Patrick Rollins Producer – Mark Griffin

The follow-up to Hell With the Lid Off is darker, less cartoonish, and far more influenced by funk and jazz than before (if it weren't for the slightly whiny vocals over top of the opening cut, you might mistake the backing track for something from Miles Davis' fusion period). In a lot of ways, Welcome to My Dream was a precursor to trip-hop, layering hip-hop beats over jazzy breaks and dream-like instrumentation. The problem is tracks like "Killer Inside Me" and "Adventures in Failure": the backing tracks are killer and the delivery of the rhymes are top-notch, but they're ultimately a bit silly, which makes it a bit hard to take the rest of the album seriously. That's a shame because there are some great tracks here, like "The City Sleeps'" and "Falling Elevators." As before, DJ Zero scratches with aplomb. 
Sean Carruthers / AllMusic

No comments:

Post a Comment