Tuesday, 28 August 2018

Julie London ‎– Time For Love - The Best Of Julie London (1991)

Style: Easy Listening
Format: CD
Label:  Rhino Entertainment Company ‎Tracklist

01.   Cry Me A River
02.   In The Middle Of A Kiss
03.   You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
04.   No Moon At All
05.   June In January
06.   Round Midnight
07.   In The Still Of The Night
08.   My Heart Belongs To Daddy
09.   Invitation To The Blues
10.   Easy Street
11.   Go Slow
12.   The Thrill Is Gone
13.   I Surrender, Dear
14.   Two Sleepy People
15.   A Cottage For Sale
16.   Daddy
17.   Gone With The Wind
18.   I'm In The Mood For Love

A collection of dusky, atmospheric mood music released as a CD in 1990, Time for Love serves as a superb overview of the jazz-pop songstress in her prime. Seductive and personal interpretations of "No Moon at All," "You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To," "Cry Me a River" (a major hit for her), and other classics beautifully demonstrate that, like June Christy and Helen Merrill, London realizes just how effective subtlety can be. While the big band accompaniment on some sides (including a soul-baring version of Thelonious Monk's "'Round Midnight") is nothing to complain about, London is best served by intimate, minimalist small groups -- some boasting only Barney Kessel's guitar and Ray Leatherwood's bass.
Alex Henderson / AllMusic

No comments:

Post a comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.