Wednesday, 4 July 2018

Drum Island ‎– Drum Island (1997)

Style: Leftfield, Abstract, Downtempo
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Apollo

01.   Bucci People
02.   Riversprite
03.   Lift
04.   La Danse Electrique
05.   Phizzz
06.   Tomcat City
07.   Glacier
08.   Earbubbles
09.   Å Dæven
10.   Untitled

Credits: Producer, Written-By – Ole J. Mjøs (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 10), Rune Lindbæk (tracks: 1, 3, 4, 7, 8), Torbjørn Brundtland

The group Drum Island seems to be misnamed. Sure, there are plenty of drums on this album, but instead of an island, “ice floe” would be more appropriate. The tracks here are icy and have the beautiful logic of ice, the cracks and coolness and all. The album uses ambient sounds and silences to great effect; for example, “Watersprite” begins with the sound of someone swimming, then shifts into… lounge music. It’s great contrast and is a terrific effect. “La Danse Electrique” is a sweeping track, orchestral and epic in the best sense of the words; the wobbly melody of “Tomcat” filters in and out until it’s grounded by cymbals. On “Glacier” the aching guitar line is buoyed by some light breaks. And the final, untitled track, wavers in its ambience, adding layers of reverb and sound. The Scandinavians sure know how to craft their music. So come back to the island, won't you?
scoundrel  / discogs

No comments:

Post a Comment