Tuesday, 17 July 2018

Cartola ‎– Cartola (1976)

Style: Samba
Format: CD, Vinyl, Cass.
Label: Discos Marcus Pereira

01.   O Mundo E Um Moinho
02.   Minha
03.   Sala De Recepcao
04.   Não Posso Viver Sem Ela
05.   Preciso Me Encontrar
06.   Peito Vazio
07.   Aconteceu
08.   As Rosas Não Falam
09.   Sei Chorar
10.   Esaboa Mulata
11.   Senhora Tentacao
12.   Cordas De Aço

Arranged By – Horondino José Da Silva
Mixed By – Norival Reis
Producer – Juarez Barroso

If your perception of Carioca's samba do morro (samba of the hills) relates to noisy, percussive grooves topped by poor melodies, this release is what you need to discover the real thing. Cartola was one of the most important samba composers of all time. His lyrical "O Mundo é um Moinho" opens the album, delivering its luxurious melodic lines. The progression of the album reveals in each new track some hidden treasures in the rustic sophistication of a poet of the people. The richness and originality of the poetic imagery contained in his lyrics, unfortunately unattainable for non-Portuguese speakers, astounds for its depth as a creation of a humble hill dweller. There are also uptempo sambas, but the forefront is delivered to voice/choir/trombone and the seven-string violão at the counterpoint, with the percussion discretely in the background. The album also contains his biggest hit, the immortal "As Rosas não Falam." A must have.
Alvaro Neder / ALLMUSIC

No comments:

Post a Comment