Tuesday, 8 May 2018

J.B. Lenoir ‎– Alabama Blues! (1966)

01.   Alabama Blues
02.   The Mojo Boogie
03.   God's Word
04.   The Whale Has Swallowed Me
05.   Move This Rope
06.   I Feel So Good
07.   Alabama March
08.   Talk To Your Daughter
09.   Mississippi Road
10.   Good Advice
11.   Vietnam
12.   I Want To Go
13.   Down To Mississippi
14.   If I Get Lucky
15.   Born Dead
16.   Feelin' Good

Genre: Blues
Format: CDVinyl
Label: L+R Records ‎– CDLR 42001, Bellaphon ‎– CDLR 42001

Design – Günther Kieser
Drums – Fred Below (tracks: 2, 4, 6, 8, 12 to16)
Liner Notes – Horst Lippmann
Photography By – Horst Lippmann
Producer – Horst Lippmann
Vocals [Additional] – Willie Dixon (tracks: 6, 13, 16)
Vocals, Guitar – J.B. Lenoir
Written-By – J.B. Lenoir

Original issue, probably also released in France on CBS (with same number). Recorded in Chicago, May 5, 1965

"J.B. Lenoir was one of the outstanding blues artists of all times. His album Alabama Blues is the first recorded document by any blues poet, who included and incorporated very critically the social and political situation of black people living in the U.S.A. in the year 1965. Thus a musical document was created long before the black communities in the United States became proud of their heritage - their roots. Jimi Hendrix was the first artist who acknowledged that J.B. Lenoir's work, preserved in this album, was a major part of his self-liberation and of finding his own identity. Though the Library of Congress has placed this album in its archives as an important part of American Music History - comparable to Duke Ellington's 'Black, Brown and Beige Suite' for example - it was never released in the United States, and even in Europe its distribution was poor. Because of this it has become one of the most searched-for collectors' items in music today."