Monday, 19 June 2017

Nicolette ‎– Let No-One Live Rent Free In Your Head (1996)

Style: Leftfield, Downtempo
Format: CD, Vinyl
Label: Talkin' Loud

01.   Don't Be Afraid
02.   We Never Know
03.   Song For Europe
04.   Beautiful Day
05.   Always
06.   Nervous
07.   Where Have All The Flowers Gone?
08.   No Government As A Way Of Life (Plaid Remix)
09.   Nightmare
10.   Judgement Day
11.   You Are Heaven Sent
12.   Just To Say Peace And Love
13.   No Government (Original Version)
14.   Don't Be Ashamed (Don't Be Afraid Part II)

Engineer – Clive Goddard (tracks: 5, 6, 9, 10), Lance Phillips (tracks: 11), Rowan Stigner (tracks: 5, 14), Tim Merlin (tracks: 2, 4, 7, 8)
Engineer [Assisted By] – Rob Kelly (tracks: 6, 9), Tanya Esden (tracks: 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11), Toby (tracks: 8)
Engineer [At Ram Studios] – Leon Mar (tracks: 3, 12)
Engineer [At Reinforced Studios] – Dego (tracks: 1)
Management [Management At Nur Entertainment] – Trenton Harrison
Mastered By [Final Mastering & Cutting At Metropolis Engineered By] – Stuart Hawkes
Producer – Alec Empire (tracks: 6, 9), Dego (tracks: 3, 12), Felix (tracks: 11), Nicolette (tracks: 1, 5, 10, 14), Plaid (tracks: 2, 4, 7, 8)
Written-By – Alec Empire (tracks: 9), Dego (tracks: 3, 12), Felix (tracks: 11), Nicolette, Oge (tracks: 14), Plaid (tracks: 7), M. Shlokov (tracks: 7)
Written-By [Uncredited] – Pete Seeger (tracks: 7)

Following Shara Nelson and Tricky, another offshoot of the Massive Attack trip-hop academy makes her album debut. It's a decent enough offering, adventurous rather than populist, though it doesn't quite live up to the promise of last year's single, "No Government". 
Present here in two substantially different mixes, that track is still the best thing on the album - Nicolette's simplistic anarchist sentiment set against either the twitching, mechanistic backdrop constructed by remixers Plaid, or, more comfortably, the shuffling groove of her own original mix. Elsewhere, the other producers drafted in to offer different views of Nicolette's songs sometimes seem to be viewing them from another country entirely - particularly Alec Empire, whose distorted, rasping techno barrages on "Nightmare" and "Nervous" may be appropriate to the subject matter, but are hardly the "pleasure attack" of which she sings on the latter. 
The lazy double-bass groove of Dego's "Just to Say Peace and Love" is more in line with her talents, and Nicolette herself demonstrates a natural sensitivity to her own voice with the marimbas and gongs of "Always". It's a strangely plain voice, favouring clarity over character, and it often seems stranded in the exotic surroundings, as if she might prefer a straight, jazzy backing to these more complex soundscapes. 
The discomfort works to best effect on the updated Black Star Liner theme of "Song for Europe", and there are signs of how effectively it might be presented in the multi-tracked counterpoints of the chorus of "Beautiful Day", intertwining against the heavily compressed, triggered synth rushes of the backing track. Impressively varied, Let No One Live Rent Free In Your Head offers a snapshot of where British fringe pop is situated in the middle of 1996: everywhere at once.
Ryan Gilbey / Independent

God ‎– The Anatomy Of Addiction (1994)

01.   On All Fours
02.   Body Horror
03.   Tunnel
04.   Lazarus
05.   Voodoo Head Blows
06.   Bloodstream
07.   White Pimp Cut Up
08.   Driving The Demons Out
09.   Gold Teeth
10.   Detox

God ‎– Loco (1981)

1.   Fucked
2.   Sick Puppy
3.   I'll See You In Hell
4.   Surf Locomotive
5.   Love's An Illness

Le Mystère Des Voix Bulgares: Volume 2 (1987)

01.   Kaval Sviri (The Flute Plays)
02.   Stani Mi, Maytcho (Get Up, My Daughter)
03.   Di-Li-Do
04.   More Zajeni Se Ghiouro (Ghiouro Gets Married)
05.   Tche Da Ti Kupim Bela Seitsa (I'm Going To Buy Some White Silk For You)
06.   Ovdoviala Lissitchkata (The Vixen Has Lost Her Children)
07.   Messetchinko Lio (You Little Moon)
08.   Ei Mori Roujke (You, Young Girl Roujke)
09.   Dragana I Slavei (The Chant Of Dragan
10.   Duma Strachilu (Revolutionary Chant)
11.   Dve Tourlaski Pesen (Teasing)
12.   Trenke, Todorke
13.   Besrodna Nevesta (Young Wife With No
14.   Izpoved (Confession)
15.   Ghiore Dos (Teasing)
16.   Spis Li, Milke Le (If You're Sleeping, Milke)